Follow us on Facebook
Follow us on Instagram
DESwitch to German Website
2020 Schauspielhaus Bochum

The last Minutes before Mars


Quick Info

In collaboration with the youth collective Mit Ohne Alles. Co-produced by FOG Triennale Milano Performing Arts and ZONA K. The world premiere was originally planned for March 2020 in Milan. Covid-19 prevented this. Our thanks to Umberto Angelini for allowing us to present the project first. Mammalian Diving Reflex is supported through core funding by the Canada Council for the Arts.
Global warming continues, wars destroy increasingly large areas of the world, life-threatening viruses spread, businesses exploit the last remnants of the earth and its resources: the planet we live on is doomed to collapse. But there is one solution to save the world: move to Mars! One desperate measure provides hope for a panicking human race: 7,700 young people from all over the world (0.0001 per cent of the population) are conscripted for an expedition to the red planet. There they will find a future and make the planet fit for habitation. Before they are propelled into space they record videos in which they can preserve the places, things and people they will miss most. Because they will be leaving the earth behind for ever. With a blend of live performance and 360 degree video technology, Last Minutes Before Mars takes the audience through the final 24 hours of the lives of the young people from the Ruhr region who have been selected for this momentous journey. The Canadian performance group Mammalian Diving Reflex specialises in collaborations with young people. Their visions and ideas stand at the centre of its artistic work. Its productions bring people together in a new and unconventional way. The youth collective Mit Ohne Alles was founded with the support of Mammalian Diving Reflex at the Ruhrtriennale in 2015. Both organisations are looking forward to renewing their collaboration!
to the schedule


Joanna Gawor
Emma Rose
Sonja Vallot
Astronaut #1
Roberto Do Carmo
Astronaut #2
Eeske Hahn
Astronaut #3
Pascal Ulrich
Renegade #1
Lynn Dokoohaki
Renegade #2
Christopher Rocholl


Darren O’Donnell
Jana Eiting

What's next?

Back to top